Tracks Monkeys With Lasers

Podcast #18

Yo La Tengo – Here To Fall
Tubelord – I Am Azerrad
The Xcerts – Nightschool
Errors – Mr Milk
Jim Lockey – The Boat Song
Oxygen Thief – There Can Only Be One
The Gaslight Anthem – Even Cowgirls Get The Blues
Polar Bear Club – Living Saints
NOFX – All Of Me
Rise Against – Ready To Fall
Frightened Rabbit – Fast Blood
There Will Be Fireworks – We Were A Roman Candle
Snuff – Nick Motown
Less Than Jake – Faction
Future Of The Left – Lapsed Catholics

Download from here.

Podcast #15
April 30, 2009, 8:51 pm
Filed under: music, podcasts | Tags: , , , , , , ,

As promised, here be the second of the two promised podcasts featuring;

Cymbals Eat Guitars – And The Hazy Sea
The Music – Fire
The Jude – End Of The Road
Tubelord – Night Of The Pencils
The Whitest Boy Alive – Island
Smokey Robinson & The Miracles – I Second That Emotion
The Temptations – Ain’t Too Proud To Beg
Yeti – Northern Line
Four Tet – As Serious As Your Life
Errors – Terror Tricks
Curses! -The Deep End (Holy Ghost! Day School Dub Mix)
Engineers – Clean Coloured Wire
South Ambulance – Kinky Love
Graham Coxon – Gimme Some Love

Download by following this link.

Hope you enjoy it! As always, feedback welcome and appreciated.. who knows how long it’ll be til the next one!

Scottish Fiction
April 10, 2009, 1:00 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: , , , , ,


After yesterday’s review, it seems that I’ve been listening to a lot of albums written by Scottish bands over the last few weeks to months and all of them have been top class. As such, it seemed apt to have a wee section dedicated to our friends North of the border.



Errors originate from good old Glasgow and have been together for just under five years now. They released the EP ‘How Clean Is You Acid House’ back in 2007 and followed this up last year with the release of the fantastic ‘It’s Not Something, But It Is Like Whatever’.

Their electro/post rock sound is something I haven’t heard elsewhere and both CDs come with high praise from myself.

Mr Milk (from 2007’s ‘How Clean Is Your Acid House’) Download

Frightened Rabbit


Another Glasgow band, this four piece have been together for quite a while now and so far have only released the one album last year, ‘The Midnight Organ Fight’.

A brilliant little album, it’s sound flits between an indie rock and a more folky sound but to great effect. The opening track, below, is such a simple tune but builds to a real crescendo. If you happen to be in London on Wednesday (April the 15th), then pop along to Puregroove record store to see these guys for free before their show at the Scala later that night.

The Modern Leper (from 2008’s ‘The Midnight Organ Fight’) Download



This Glasgow band have been together and performing for almost 15 years now, with 6 albums to show for it, and according to are “one of the most influential and best known bands in their genre”.

This genre happens to be post rock, despite the band refuting this claim, and they are one of the most well known instrumental artists. Their most recent album ‘The Hawk Is Howling’ was released only last year. They’re currently in the middle of an extensive tour across North America and Europe before starting on the festival circuit.

Batcat (from 2008’s ‘The Hawk Is Howling’) Download

We Were Promised Jetpacks


Originally from Edinburgh(!), this foursome have been around for a while, slowly buidling their fanbase.

With a sound similar to Frighterned Rabbit, albeit slightly less folky, they recently signing to the Fat Cat Records and their first album is due out later this year. They’re also playing a number of gigs, flitting between London, Glasgow and Edinburgh.

Ships With Holes Will Sink (from the upcoming ‘These Four Walls’) Download

%d bloggers like this: